Our Faculty

Leading the study of social sciences with expert perspective.

Our sociology faculty are experienced researchers in dozens of areas of sociological inquiry, and our work incorporates a wide variety of methodologies, including statistical modeling, network-analytic approaches, ethnographic research, comparative historical inquiry and survey analysis. Click on faculty names for more information about each professor’s research, experience and contact information.


Jacqueline Johnson
Department Chair
Blodgett Hall, Room 102B
p – 516.877.3826
e –

Sarah J. Avery
Administrative Assistant 
Blodgett Hall, Room 102
p – 516.877.4943
e –

Stephanie Lake
Director of Criminal Justice Program
Blodgett Hall, Room 102A
p – 516.877.4941
e –


Melanie Bush

Salvatore Primeggia

Associate Professors

Jacqueline Johnson
Department Chair

Jessica S. Klein

Deborah Little

Assistant Professors

Giovani Burgos

Jacqueline Olvera

Senior Lecturer

Stephanie Lake
Director of Criminal Justice Program


Sandra B. Castro

Adjunct Faculty

Matthew Caldara

John Capece

Mary Cortina

Alicia Wilson

Susan Dunn

Trevor Milton

Victoria Sepe



For further information, please contact:

Department of Sociology
Blodgett Hall Room 102
p – 516.877.4943

Apply Now
Request Information